equipment/soft for 240Hz refresh rate

Hello,
I am a beginner and I have probably basic question.
We plan to run motion detection experiment that requires very high time resolution.  For this I think to purchase a monitor with the highest available refresh rate (BenQ Zowie XL2540,  4.5" 16:9 1920 x 1080 TN 240Hz ).   Will Psychotoolbox be able to handle such a high resolution and what graphic card we would need for that?  What operational system (Linux, Mac, Windows) would be preferable?
Any tips would be very valuable!
Elena

XX---In PSYCHTOOLBOX@yahoogroups.com, <orekhova.elena.v@...> wrote :

Hello,
We plan to run motion detection experiment that requires very high time resolution.  For this I think to purchase a monitor with the highest available refresh rate (BenQ Zowie XL2540,  4.5" 16:9 1920 x 1080 TN 240Hz ).   Will Psychotoolbox be able to handle such a high resolution and what graphic card we would need for that?  What operational system (Linux, Mac, Windows) would be preferable?
Elena

-> Hi Elena,

PTB itself can handle that if the underlying OS/hardware can. I strongly recommend Linux, especially for such demanding tasks. But achieving 240 Hz redraw rate consistently without glitches is pushing hard, so even small misconfiguration of the hardware or software, or one sub-standard hardware component in your machine, or slightly suboptimal experiment code could ruin it. I haven't ever run anything at 240 Hz with vsync enabled, as required for proper visual stimulation, due to lack of any suitable displays. In terms of pure graphics performance it isn't a problem for not too complex stimuli, e.g., rendering 1000 fps on average is pretty doable even on on six year old graphics cards. Doing it vsync'ed, with stable refresh and no frame drops is a different issue.