Screen Crashes when Psychimaging(?) is executed in Octave under Windows 7 and error message is displayed in Ubuntu 16.04

Hello there, I am new in Octave with Python experience still looking for complete tutorials from the language but at the moment I am only learning with pieces of tutorials on youtube, and learning other things through analogies with Python… I am stuck in a problem where when this code is ran to displays a purple screen with a non-stop mouse cursor rotating, and octave-gui stop working being it after that the user insert some inputs in the text fields and after choose a file in a determined folder, this code was developed by another researcher where it is already cited in my project with his name, and I am supposed to make some tests, fixes and improvements on it to run the application after. The issue in the code is at the time to open the screen as follows the implementation (these ones where I commented (%) are what already did before, and these ones below the comments are my correction) the code is large with 825 lines as follows:

prompt = {'Enter Subject Number:','Enter Subject Name:','Enter Todays Date:','Left or Right:'};
dlgtitle = 'Information Input';
%dims = [1 50];
dims = [1 50;1 50;1 50;1 50];
opts = 'on';
answer = inputdlg(prompt,dlgtitle,dims);
%waitfor(answer);
waitfor(dims);

%% TO Excel 

% Get the name of the file that the user wants to save.
%startingFolder = userpath;
startingFolder = 'C:\Users\Vtr\Downloads\Final-task-981203\Final-task-981203\Task-981203';
defaultFileName = fullfile(startingFolder, '*.xlsx');
[baseFileName, folder] = uiputfile(defaultFileName, 'Specify a filename ');
if baseFileName == 0
    % User clicked the Cancel button.
    return;
end
% Combine the folder and base file name into the full file name.
fullFileName = fullfile(folder, baseFileName);

%% LOAD text initial setting

%% Create 1st screen : (Loading and Wait)text screen

% Open an on screen window - purple screen