Tracking mouse button events during movie playback - OSX Matlab R2019a

I need to track the times of mouse button events (OSX ‘Apple Internal Keyboard / Trackpad’) during the playback of a movie, and would appreciate advice on how best to do this between frames. I’m a beginner to Psychtoolbox, but understand that OSX has a number of compatibility issues.

Usually, if tracking mouse events while playing audio, I can spin a while true loop and constantly retrieve GetMouse between PsychPortAudio('Start'...) and PsychPortAudio('Stop'...). With a movie, as per the below code snippet, it’s unclear how this fits in without affecting playback (missing frame deadlines); or missing button events due to the frame-by-frame loop.

Unlike keyboard events (using KbQueue), it doesn’t seem like there is a built in way of tracking mouse events asynchronously? If trying to use the trackpad device, I understandably get the error Specified device number is not a suitable keyboard type input device..

Is this related to the mess that is OSX? Or, is there a more sensible way of inserting mouse-event tracking below?

Thanks!

Screen('PlayMovie', movie, ...);
    while 1

% Is there a way of filling gaps between frame presentation with GetMouse?

tex = Screen('GetMovieImage', win, movie ...);
        if (tex < 0)
            break;
        elseif (tex == 0)
            WaitSecs('YieldSecs', 0.05);
            continue;
        end
        Screen('DrawTexture', sess.win, tex, ... );
        Screen('Flip', win);
        Screen('Close', tex);
    end
    Screen('CloseMovie', movie);

OSX Mojave 10.14.6 (sorry, I’m stuck with this for now)
Matlab R2019a

If you get your deviceIndex via GetMouseIndices() and pass it to KbQueueCreate(deviceIndex) etc. it should work with typical mice and trackpads.

Thanks for the suggestion - I’ve tried this again, and still find that it only tracks some mouse events (no key list provided). Maybe, there’s an obvious reason for the inconsistency below!