Issues with PsychPortAudio on macOS 11

Hi everyone!

I am very new to using PsychToolbox and have had some issues with PsychPortAudio specifically.

The laptop I am using operates on macOS Big Sur 11.6

I tried to run a script that uses PsychPortAudio to play a certain audio stimulus but kept getting an error message. I subsequently tried running the BasicSoundOutputDemo but got the same error. As I was not able to open my audio file in neither the first script I tried nor the demo, I resorted to trying the default audio file in the demo and still got the same error message which I have posted here:

PTB-ERROR: Desired audio parameters for device -1 unsupported by audio device: Internal PortAudio error
PTB-ERROR: This could be, e.g., due to an unsupported combination of audio sample rate, audio channel count/allocation, or audio sample format.
Error in function Open: Usage error
Failed to open PortAudio audio device due to unsupported combination of audio parameters.
Error using PsychPortAudio
Usage:

pahandle = PsychPortAudio(‘Open’ [, deviceid][, mode][, reqlatencyclass][, freq][, channels][, buffersize][, suggestedLatency][,
selectchannels][, specialFlags=0]);

Error in BasicSoundOutputDemo (line 88)
pahandle = PsychPortAudio(‘Open’, device, [], 0, freq, nrchannels);

I did notice that PsychToolbox was not officially supported for macOS 11 so I’m not sure whether this is just a compatibility issue that I can’t resolve or if it could be fixed with a few changes to the script.

I’d really appreciate any help/advice and thanks in advance!

There was a recent commit in Mario’s development branch updating PortAudio to the latest version which will be available in the next public release. Perhaps this will solve your problem — at least on my mid2015 Macbook Pro with macOS 11.6 sound output is working fine with Mario’s latest development branch…

1 Like

Okay, thank you very much! Do you by any chance know when this update will become available?