Nvidia 3D Vision glasses, Windows 7

Hi,

Just looking for some up to date information on using Nvidia 3D vision shutter glasses on Windows 7 with PTB. These are the ones which plug in via USB, not a 3-pin-din stereo port. 

Basically, do they work well? I will be using a CRT, so I'm not asking about ghosting caused by screen persistence. Just whether the glasses play nice with PTB and Windows 7. 

For this project there would also be the possibility of using Linux.

Thanks

Peter

XX-In PSYCHTOOLBOX@yahoogroups.com, <peterscarfe@...> wrote :

Ah, all is clear. 

Thats annoying. Stereo rendering is getting more and more common nowadays, so it is a shame there are not more commercial systems. 

We used Crystal Eyes and blue line stereo. But this was when I was a PhD student. They no longer sell the adaptor to do this now. Its all just the 3pin stereo adaptors, for which you need a Quadro card, for something like the DataPixx. 

Thanks for the help / advice.

Peter

-> I guess a lot of people would look into using VR headsets for this soon? They are relatively cheap (well, the Rift DK2 is very cheap for what it has to offer), although the prices for the actual consumer mass market products will be higher as far as i read. With PTB's new Rift support you can use the DK2 as a mono display monitor with good timing and controlled lighting conditions ("A cubicle worn on your head"), or as a stereo monitor, or for the full VR head tracked 3D rendering show.

-> That Github project won't be a real option. Using the library itself would be possible within PTB with ok effort, but that would only work on Windows, which i don't like. Another problem would be the requirement to rename matlab.exe into WoW.exe or similar to trick the NVidia driver into thinking this isn't Matlab but "World of Warcraft". I doubt that would end well with the way Matlabs startup process works.