Problem with dual display on Linux

Hi,

I’m new to PsychToolBox and I’m trying to make dual display possible on my laptop that runs on Linux, for example, experiment presentation on one monitor and Matlab codes showing on the other monitor. The PTB version I have is 3.0.18, and my operating system is Ubuntu 20.04.

I followed the instructions in this post and ran “PsychLinuxConfiguration” as root. The output showed that my system does not have the /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/ folder. I allowed it to create this folder. Afterwards, I ran the “XOrgConfCreator” and the “XOrgConfSelector” commands to create a configuration file and copy it to the /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/ folder. However, after I had done all these, I could no longer login Ubuntu. Moreover, Ubuntu couldn’t restart normally unless I deleted the /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/ folder.

Is this a bug between PTB and the current Ubuntu version? Is there a way to make dual display possible on Ubuntu 20.04? Otherwise, what is an Ubuntu version on which “XOrgConfSelector” works (I don’t mind switch to an older version of Ubuntu)?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Best,
Hantao

Ubuntu 20.04-LTS + PTB 3.0.18 is the most well tested and well supported configuration of all possible PTB + operating system combos at this point, and what you did should work just fine.

If you downloaded Psychtoolbox from us, PsychLinuxConfiguration would have run automatically, only when installing via sudo apt ... do you need to run it manually, but this doesn’t matter here.

Deleting the file inside /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/ will be enough on login failure, no need to delete the folder, which is needed.

So something went wrong when creating the xorg.conf file by XOrgConfCreator, i guess. Maybe due to some exotic or unsupported graphics hardware setup. NVidia and especially involving the NVidia proprietary driver is a potential troublemaker and strongly discouraged.