Problems with installing PsychtoolboxKernelDriver on OS X 10.8

Hi all,

I am fairly new to psychtoolbox and it seems to offer exactly what I need. However, I was wondering if anyone could help me out here.

Since I do care about precise time stamping in my experiment, I would like to install the kernel driver (64-bit). When I follow the instructions from the help command, the terminal returns an error; so that's where it ends for me so far.

When I type
cd /System/Library/Extensions/
terminal returns with:
unknown:Extensions 'myusername'$

When I try to unzip the driver regardless, I get:
unzip: cannot find or open /PathToPsychtoolbox/Psychtoolbox/PsychHardware/PsychtoolboxKernelDriver64Bit.kext.zip, /PathToPsychtoolbox/Psychtoolbox/PsychHardware/PsychtoolboxKernelDriver64Bit.kext.zip.zip or /PathToPsychtoolbox/Psychtoolbox/PsychHardware/PsychtoolboxKernelDriver64Bit.kext.zip.ZIP.
unknown:Extensions 'myusername'$

I realise that this has more to do with my mac than PTB, but I have no idea why it can't seem to find the extensions folder under my user name, while I am sure that I have full admin rights on my own computer.

In case it matters, I am running PTB-3 and Matlab R2013a on OS X Mountain Lion. If more info is needed for trouble shooting, let me know.

Any suggestions?
--- In psychtoolbox@yahoogroups.com, "cescoyouth" <cescoyouth@...> wrote:
>
> Hi all,
>
> I am fairly new to psychtoolbox and it seems to offer exactly what I need. However, I was wondering if anyone could help me out here.
>
> Since I do care about precise time stamping in my experiment, I would like to install the kernel driver (64-bit). When I follow the instructions from the help command, the terminal returns an error; so that's where it ends for me so far.
>
> When I type
> cd /System/Library/Extensions/
> terminal returns with:
> unknown:Extensions 'myusername'$
>

It should. It's called a shell prompt, ready to take new commands.

> When I try to unzip the driver regardless, I get: