Program is crashing (maybe) during data collection "break"

Hi everyone,

I am not a novice to psychtoolbox–I wrote my first experiment 20 years ago in Matlab–but recently I encountered a problem that might be coding problem or a Windows problem, and I was hoping someone could help or let me know if they encountered something similar.

Psychtoolbox version: 3.0.19 - Flavor: Manual Install, 18-Jul-2024
Platform: Windows 10 Enterprise
Matlab version 2016b (yes, it’s old, but I bought it with startup when I got this job and that version hasn’t been a problem until maybe now)

Allow me to describe the problem, and then I’ll provide the code, which may or may not be causing the problem.

I am running participants through a long RSVP target detection task. Participants control the timing of trials with their responses, which have no time pressure (we’re collecting accuracy but not RT). Every 20 trials, they get a self-paced break. Most participants got through the experiment without a hitch. But for a sizeable minority of participants, the program crashed randomly before they finished.

From interviewing participants, we discovered that it was happening during a self-paced break each time, and always when the participant wanted to take a “longer” break.

I tried it out and indeed found that if I let it sit on that self-paced break for long enough (about 30 seconds), the screen would turn black and the windows spinning ring would show up, and I’d get a message along the lines of “Matlab is not responding.”

I think that I fixed the problem by not allowing windows to give me any notifications of any kind. After changing that, the problem went away when I tested it out. We haven’t had a new participant yet. But my IT department thinks that it’s a problem with matlab or with my code, rather than a Windows setting.