Stimulus being displayed 1 frame too early

Hi ,

I’m new to PTB and was hoping somebody could help me figure out a perplexing timing issue. My goal is to present a new stimulus (png image) every 10 frames. The relevant part of my code boils down to what I’ve included below. In addition to the .png stimulus, I draw a small white rectangle in the corner of the screen to trigger a photosensor connected to a BlackBox Toolkit. The timing as recorded by Screen(‘Flip’) is exactly what I’d expect ; the time stamp indicates that there is 167 ms between each vbl. But the external photodetector reports that on some trials the flip occurs too EARLY . For example, on a test of 240 trials I found that 202 trials had an SOA of 167 ms, whereas 38 had an SOA of 150 ms. This has me very confused. It’d make sense if there was something with my hardware or in my code that led to dropping a frame and increasing the SOA, but I can’t figure out how/why the stimulus is occasionally displayed a frame too early.

I’m using PTB3 (MATLAB 2021a) on a Windows 10 machine with an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 GPU.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.
-Andrew

p.ifi = Screen('GetFlipInterval', wPtr);        % monitor flip interval
p.cush = p.ifi * .5;                            % set 1/2 interval
p.imageInterval = p.ifi * 10;                  % @60Hz = 167 ms
p.soa = p.imageInterval - p.cush;              % @60Hz = 167 - 8 ms (between 9th and 10th refresh)

for stimi = 1:240
% Present the stim with the white box for the first 5 frames
    Screen('DrawTexture', wPtr, imageTex{{stimi}, [], dstRects(stimi), 0);    % Draw face to buffer
    Screen('FillRect', wPtr, [1,1,1], p.optoBox);    % Draw photodiode box to buffer
    Screen('DrawingFinished', wPtr);
    [vbl] = Screen('Flip',  wPtr,  vbl + p.soa);    % Present stimulus
    p.vbltimes(stimi) = vbl;

% Present the stim without the white box for the last 5 frames