Visual stimulus frame flip - outputting TTL pulse via USB

Hello

We are trying to carry out a very precise visual stimulus experiment (neuroscience) and would like to know when the screen is refreshed by PTB.

I am not a matlab expert, but as far as I can see this is the code that draws our stimulus.

function showObject_(self, object_features)
            Screen('DrawTextures', self.window.ptr, object_features.texture_ptr, [], ...
                object_features.destRect, [], [], [], [], [], kPsychUseTextureMatrixForRotation);
        end

We currently use a simple USB TTL device like this (and we think we can figure out how to find the COMport via matlab/PTB):

What’s not clear is where the draw command is being updated and run by PTB. Is there any instructions / manual I can read on this function? Or is this not the right function?

Thanks so much,

This is an old question, but a critical one for the precise trigger.
The code you showed is drawing into the buffer only. The real stimulus onset is Screen('Flip', ....) later. The practical way is to send the trigger immediately after Flip by IOPort('Write', ...).

Thanks so much, i will search for the function and see if we can access it.
C

But that is only half of the problem if you care about stimulus timing. Screen('flip') will return just before stimulus is scheduled for presentation, and if you read the documentation it can also provide an estimate of stimulus onset and does lots of setup to ensure timing is well monitored (at least on Linux):

http://psychtoolbox.org/docs/Screen-Flip