Unable to install in Octave from HomeBrew on Apple Silicon Macs

Hi, I need your help.
This is my first time trying to install PTB and it looks like it’s not going to be an easy one.
I’m using macOS Big Sur(11.2.1) and tried with Octave6.3.
I downloaded Subversion 1.14.2 and installed it accordingly,
downloaded Psychtoolbox.m, and tried running it:

cd ~/Desktop
DownloadPsychtoolbox

I get this error message:

Running post-install routine…
warning: savepath: current path saved to ~/.octaverc
Octave major version 6 detected. Will prepend the following folder to your Octave path:
/Applications/Psychtoolbox/PsychBasic/Octave6OSXFiles64 …
ERROR: WaitSecs-MEX does not work, most likely other MEX files will not work either.
ERROR: One reason might be that your version 6.3.0 of Octave is incompatible. We recommend
ERROR: use of the latest stable version of Octave-6 as announced on the www.octave.org website.
ERROR: Another conceivable reason would be missing or incompatible required system libraries on your system.
ERROR: After fixing the problem, restart this installation/update routine.
Installation aborted. Fix the reported problem and retry.

This is my first time to use Psychtoolbox and Octave.
Please help me how to overcome it.

Octave installed from HomeBrew, the only package source we support/test against?
What output happens if you type WaitSecs in the octave command window?
Output of GetOctLibDir ?
Output of ls([PsychtoolboxRoot '/PsychBasic/Octave6OSXFiles64/']) ?

macOS 11 or 12 are not officially supported or tested yet, so one never knows what new obstacles the iToy’s company has thrown in.

Update: The latest PTB 3.0.18.10 release should be able to deal with both Octave 6.3/6.4 and Octave 7.1 on macOS, as provided by HomeBrew. v6.4 and 7.1 were successfully tested.

-mario

dear mario

hello, thank you for your reply.
I’m so sorry, I failed to install in Octave again.
I used the new PC(macOs Monterey 12.2) to download and install again.
Xcode 13.4