How to install/use the io64 function

Hello,

i’m quite new in Matlab/PTB.

I need to send some triggers to the parallel port for EEG data. Most people in my lab use io64 function like this :

ioObj = io64;
status = io64(ioObj);
address = hex2dec(‘E010’);
io64(ioObj,address,value);

The EEG platform is on Windows 10.

I develop my code on Linux on my laptop which does not has any parallel port.
The version of Matlab is R2022b and the PTB version is 3.0.18.

On this setup, there is no function io64 :

>> ioObj = io64;
Unrecognized function or variable 'io64'.

Perhaps this is an expected behaviour since I have not parallel port or perhap this is a Windows only function…

Do you have any idea here ?

And besides this issue, do you where I could find any documentation on this io64 function ?

Thanks a lot,

BR,

Pierre

For Linux the solutions are different, please read the FAQ:

For Linux I think this is the recommended route to use Parallel port: GitHub - widmann/ppdev-mex: Simple mex interface to ppdev

There are lots of options for using USB ports too which obviously allow more flexibility in hardware configuration and could work cross-platform…

Hello Ian-Max-Andolina,

thank you very much for your quick and well documented answer !

I understand that sending messages through the parallel port is handled differently between Windows and Linux.

I will then focus on Windows since it is the system on which the “official” run will be performed.

On 32-bits Windows, the link you cite suggested to us PortTall/lptwrite.c

On 64-bits Windows, it is rather suggested to use “Inpout driver” (I don’t know what this name refers to) and two links are given :

• the first one refers to IO64 (hooray !) which seems to be maintained by the University of South Dakota
  • the second one refers to a Yahoo group discussion and seems to use callib Matlab function

Sadly, both links are currently dead so I can’t investigate furthermore.