Libusb and the psychtoolbox wheel in psychopy?

Hi, I am porting this high-speed low-cost eyetracker (High Speed eye tracking system) to work in PTB. The sample code is in Psychopy (which I need to understand so I want to run it, but I’ve never used psychopy before), and trying to pip install psychopy it is the psychtoolbox wheel fails to install:

Collecting psychtoolbox
  Using cached psychtoolbox-3.0.18.2.zip (2.9 MB)
  Preparing metadata (setup.py) ... error
  error: subprocess-exited-with-error

× python setup.py egg_info did not run successfully.
  │ exit code: 1
  ╰─> [15 lines of output]
      Traceback (most recent call last):
        File "<string>", line 2, in <module>
        File "<pip-setuptools-caller>", line 34, in <module>
        File "C:\Temp\pip-install-7aczrn53\psychtoolbox_baf57c935d5748e0a9f969235d6b9d34\setup.py", line 109, in <module>
          shutil.copy('PsychSourceGL/Cohorts/libusb1-win32/MS64/dll/libusb-1.0.dll',
        File "C:\Users\Ian\scoop\apps\python\current\Lib\shutil.py", line 419, in copy
          copyfile(src, dst, follow_symlinks=follow_symlinks)
        File "C:\Users\Ian\scoop\apps\python\current\Lib\shutil.py", line 256, in copyfile
          with open(src, 'rb') as fsrc:
               ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
      FileNotFoundError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'PsychSourceGL/Cohorts/libusb1-win32/MS64/dll/libusb-1.0.dll'
      Platform reported as: Windows

I know this isn’t a PTB problem but a python packaging issue, but if anyone has any python packaging knowledge could point me to how to fix this I’d be much obliged…

Hi @Ian-Max-Andolina, it looks like the source install (.zip file) is missing the libusb DLL. What version of Python are you using (python --version)? For the majority of platforms, pip install psychtoolbox would give the user a prebuilt package, but apparently that didn’t happen in this case.